Nicole Mitchell
Nicole Mitchell

Shannon Lawrence (Open Male), Nicole Mitchell (Open Female) and Gabriella Arnold (Junior Female) all repeated as champions, while Daniel Oatley grabbed the title for Junior Male division in the Bank of Bermuda Foundation Time Trial Championships on Sunday.

Conditions for the multi-loop course in Southside produced a strong headwind from the west but clear skies meant that the road surfaces would allow riders to be quick in and out of the corners.

Lawrence (Team Tokio) was the emphatic winner with a time of 43 minutes 24 seconds, nearly three minutes ahead of Mark Hatherley (Winners Edge) and Anthony Bartley (Winners Edge). 

Mitchell (Winners Edge, pictured) eked out a seven-second victory over team-mate Zoenique Williams, who was followed by Karen Smith (independent), who was 1:38 further back.

 Gabriella Arnold (Winners Edge) claimed her 14th consecutive national championship title ahead of Victoria Davis (Winners Edge) and Erica Hawley (independent). Daniel Oatley (Fast Forward Bicycle Works) showed that his cycling form is returning when he bested Justin Ferreira and Nate Hartwig (both Winners Edge) by over a minute and a half.

Next up for the BBA is the RMS Construction Road Race Championship, which will be held in Devonshire next Sunday starting at 8am.